Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

October 27, 2020

The Honorable Pete Gaynor Administrator Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C Street, SW Washington, DC 20472

Dear Administrator Gaynor,

While we appreciate the support that the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) has thus far provided to the State of Illinois, we are writing today to express concerns with FEMA's processing of the State's requests for Public Assistance as it relates to COVID-19 expenses.

To date, FEMA has approved less than five percent of Illinois's submitted claims, while taking an average of more than 90 days to process a claim. Furthermore, we have received reports that your agency has retroactively applied new guidance to previously submitted claims, and further, that it has applied unpublished guidance to claims. We also have received reports that these belated or unofficial policies have been used to justify denials of reimbursement applications.

We request expedient clarification on these policies and subsequent denials, as untimely guidance, nontransparent procedures, and moving goalposts only make it more difficult for States to navigate federal aid—and at a time when their resources are already thinly stretched.

We urge you to direct your agency to be transparent, timely, and communicative as possible as they enforce administrative requirements, and to bear in mind the overarching goal to assist already-burdened states in this time of need.

We look forward to hearing from you and stand ready should you need our assistance.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Tammy arbuitt

Cheri Bustos

United States Representative

her Bustos



United States Representative

Bill Foster

Bill Foster United States Representative



Lauren Underwood United States Representative

Daniel W. Lipinski United States Representative



Danny K. Davis United States Representative

Bobby L. Rush United States Representative Bobin X. Kelly

Robin L. Kelly United States Representative

Raja Krishnamoorthi United States Representative

Jan Schakowsky United States Representative

Jesus & Gario

Jesús G. "Chuy" García United States Representative

Bradley S. Schneider United States Representative

Sean Casten United States Representative