Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

August 29, 2024

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC

Dear Mr. President:

We write in support of Illinois Governor JB Pritzker's request for federal assistance for the State of Illinois, to help seven Illinois counties recover from severe storm damage that occurred on July 13-16. Specifically, he requests a Major Disaster Declaration for Cook, Fulton, Henry, St. Clair, Washington, Will, and Winnebago Counties.

Governor Pritzker has indicated that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that an effective response is beyond the capabilities of the State and local governments. We also support his request for activation of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Individual Assistance Programs, Hazard Mitigation programs, and all Recovery Support Function (RSFs) Programs under the National Disaster Recovery Framework to aid in recovery. Additionally, we support his request for federal disaster assistance through the Small Business Administration (SBA), including low-interest disaster loan access for these counties, and those contiguous to them.

During the July 13-16 period, severe storms, tornadoes, and extreme rainfall caused flash flooding and heavy wind damage throughout Illinois. A derecho yielding more than 40 tornadoes also passed through Central and Northern Illinois. This severe weather resulted in significant power outages, tree damage, and roadway interruptions throughout the state. Subsequent damage has impacted homeowners, businesses, and local governments. As such, the Governor seeks timely federal assistance from FEMA and SBA.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of this important request. We stand ready to assist in any way appropriate.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Tammy Direkwath

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

esus & Gamo

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Ken 6711

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

119

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

amen Underme

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress

Min C

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

. d. Panio

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

the kneede

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

10ml

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

fast

Bill Foster Member of Congress

alma

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Page 3

Mike Quigle, Mike Quigley Member of Congress

mathen L. And

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress